Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV | The Daily Post


“Unusual. In this week’s Photography 101 post on point of view, Lynn Wohlers offers great advice on how to show your own unique way of looking at the world…”

Hmmm….my own unique way of looking the world…presumably without scaring small children…contrary to my normal rule of only using my own photos in these challenges, this week I am using a photo that a friend (you know who you are and I’m happy to credit the pic if you want) posted on her Facebook page which enjoying a coffee in an Auckland cafe…

995702_10200177328051510_1285930671_n

I guess that I didn’t look too closely at it when she posted it and I commented something along the lines of “interesting wall decor” which, of course, she found a little odd (I get a bit of that!) as she thought that she had photographed what was sitting on her table…

Maybe it was the shadows, or the angle, or the fact that I had too much/not enough coffee that morning, but my immediate perception of this image is (current tense!) that it is a wall display of an enlarged magazine, sugar cellar (salt cellar therefore sugar too?) and a cup of coffee (obviously not a real one or all the coffee would run out!), with the late morning sun creating the shadows…

So, yup, my perception of an unusual point of view that wasn’t…

Weekly Photo Challenge: An Unusual POV | The Daily Post.

PS. Any of you cafes out there that steal this idea for a wall display…finders fee!!